Coconut Flour Chocolate Cake in a Mug!

A couple days ago, I shared the protein powder cake in a mug I had been making for a bedtime snack.  Since then (as I mentioned in a previous post), I came to the conclusion that the protein powder might be making me sick, so obviously no more protein powder mug cakes :(

But, let’s just say I got over that sadness pretttyyyyy quick when I discovered this:

Ummm….yeah. Tell me that doesn’t even just LOOK better than the protein mug cake.

It’s also about twice the size of the protein powder cake.  Ding, ding, ding, we have a winner!

Here’s the recipe I used:

Coconut Flour Chocolate Cake in a Mug

2 TBSP coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1 TBSP cocoa powder

1 egg

4 TBSP almond milk

1 TBSP melted coconut oil

a little stevia

I combined all of those ingredients in a bowl, and then poured it into a small microwave-safe bowl sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

Then, I put it in the microwave for about two minutes, and viola! A HUGE mug cake was formed!

I topped mine with some Cookie Nookie PB Crave and a few crushed Annie’s bunnies, and then poured some almond milk over the top. Does anyone else like cake/muffins/everythinggg in milk?  It’s a trick my AAU basketball coach taught me in high school.  Thanks Coach Ferkel! :)

 Let’s just say I will literally be making this every night for the next week rest of my life.

Any ideas for other toppings? I am open to any suggestions.  Preferably any that might involve nut butters of ANY sort ;)

Hope you enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Coconut Flour Chocolate Cake in a Mug!

  1. You have got to be kidding me!! This is UNREAL its so easy and delicious. Seriously…I am amazed. I topped mine with frozen yogurt. You should try to make Avacado mousse too…top desert fav.

  2. I made your recipe tonight and it wasn’t sweet enough for me. I squirted some honey and topped with a dollop of Greek vanilla yogurt. Now we’re talking! Yum.

    • Hi Jenni!

      I can’t say that I have tried it in the oven before, but might suggest putting some baking powder in if you tried it? Might make it even better and more fluffy :) Let me know if you try an oven version and how it turns out!

  3. I’ve made this three times & can’t get enough! I added almond butter & chocolate chips :) I love it so much, but it’s kind of a pain in the buns to make over & over & over (since I’m obsessed..) so I premade a few with the dry ingredients in baggies & added the eggs, milk & almond butter before zapping it in the microwave. DE-LISH.

  4. Pingback: My period survival strategy | Stretchmarklandia

  5. Just made this and wow. It’s like a soufflé. Really tasty. I swapped stevia for honey. Are you on Instagram? I’m going to post a pic and would like to tag you in it x

  6. So yummy! I eliminated the sweetener and used olive oil (love its flavour) in place of the coconut oil – it worked wonderfully. Must try the coconut oil version today (…and quadruple the recipe :P).

    Thanks, Taylor!

Leave a Reply

