Arnold Classic and the Question Game!

Hey guys!

Today has been such a busy day!  This morning I woke up and headed out to Dublin where I coach a volleyball team of junior high girls at a club called Elite.  I’ve been coaching there for just over a year now and love it.  The girls and other coaches are awesome and so fun to be around.  Coaching can definitely have it’s times of frustration, but I love the girls on my team and they make it a great experience!

Before leaving for the gym, I made myself some steel cut oats with cinnamon and almond milk, and topped them with some blueberries, banana, and a little peanut butter. Yummmmm!

After the volleyball games were over, I came home to meet my sister and we headed downtown to check out the Arnold Classic!  For those of you who don’t know what that is, it is basically a HUGE fitness expo that Columbus holds every year.  It is jam packed with  booths with people from a million different organizations, ranging anywhere from protein supplement companies to boxing clubs to clothing lines, and everything in between!  My sister Lindsay had gotten two free tickets from her work and neither of us had ever been so we decided to go check it out.  And boy was it crazy! The convention center was a complete madhouse.  There were people EVERYWHERE! But, even though it was sometimes hard to push through the crowds, it was a really cool thing to be able to experience.  While most of the organizations seemed to be geared toward the hard core body builders, me and Linds still had fun walking around and checking out all of the booths (not to mention sampling every protein bar known to man while we were at it).

We had a little fun posing with this cut out too 🙂

 

Our favorite part was seeing Colleen, Mark, and Amanda from the Biggest Loser, one of our favorite shows!  They were awesome!

For the second part of this post it looks like I will be answering/asking some questions! I was tagged in a little something called the Question Game by Elisabeth and Emily from CHAARG.  Apparently it is a little game going around for bloggers to have some fun and get to know each other.  Sounds like fun to me 🙂

Here are the rules:

RULES:

  1. Post these rules.
  2. Post 11 random things about yourself.
  3. Answer the questions the person who tagged you set for you in their post.
  4. Tag 11 new people to participate.
  5. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  6. Go to their blog/Twitter/Facebook and tell them you’ve tagged them.

RANDOM FACTS:

1. I’m almost positive I came out of the womb an Ohio State Buckeye.

As you can see by the picture below (yes, that’s me on the left), I have been around Ohio State for as long as I can remember.  That picture is actually me and my sister inside Ohio Stadium (aka the Shoe) when we were little.  I was born here in Columbus, and have actually lived in the same house here my entire life.  My family has always been huge Buckeye fans.  My mom and aunt even work for the university.  I grew up watching OSU in football and basketball, and going to games in the Shoe and at the Schott.  So, I guess it was only natural that I chose to come to OSU for college.  In fact, it was the only place I applied!  It just feels like home.

2.  I have a slight (okay, HUGE) obsession with anything and everything produced by Nike.

I don’t know what it is, but Nike brand anything is my biggest weakness.  Whenever I step into Dick’s or Finish Line, all self control I have goes straight out the window!  Just today I was in Finish Line and had to tell myself to walk away from the wall of Nike frees…  The past two years I have gone to Chicago with my family and my absolute favorite store there is hands down Niketown.  Three whole stories of Nike greatness! THREE FLOORS PEOPLE.

3.  I was diagnosed with Type One Diabetes when I was 10 years old.

When I was in 5th grade, I got really sick and had to stay in the hospital for almost a week, ultimately learning that I had Juvenile Diabetes.  For the past 9 years I have had my fair share of insulin injections, finger pricks, and juice boxes.  Type One Diabetes is definitely not an easy disease to live with, but I know that it has helped make me the person I am today. In fact, it is one of the main reasons behind my passion for nutrition and living a healthy lifestyle, not to mention my decision to study Human Nutrition in college.  I am so lucky to have such a supportive family to help me through all the ups and downs of this disease, and below is a picture of my team last year at the JDRF Walk to Cure Diabetes at Ohio State.  One of the most exciting parts of this past year for me was finally saying goodbye to 4 insulin shots a day and saying hello to my new, tubeless insulin pump.  Getting this pump was by far one of the best decisions of my life, but I won’t even go into details about that here, or we might be here awhile! 🙂

4.   I have the smallest/cutest/most spoiled dog in the world.

We got Poco when I was in 5th grade, right after my diagnosis.  We had never had a dog before, and for some reason we chose a chihuahua.  My sister and I completely misnamed her.  We thought it would be cute to name her the word for “little” in Spanish, but we clearly did not put enough thought into it because the actual word for little is “pequena.”  Whoops…Anyways, there is no doubt that Poco runs things in our household.  She hogs the bed, has her own spot on the couch, and even eats pizza with our family on Friday nights. Can you say spoiled?!

5.  Right behind my obsession with Nike (or maybe even before), is my obsession with Whole Foods.

Whole Foods is hands down my favorite store in the world! I could literally spend endless hours in there every time I go.  I love walking up and down the isles looking for new things to try and just checking out all of the awesome stuff they have!  The foodie in me comes out and I just go crazy!  I love finding new health foods and recipes, so I always get super excited when I make a trip there. The only downfall to Whole Foods is that is pretty much empties my whole wallet.  But I still think it’s totally worth it 🙂  This year for Valentine’s day, my aunt got me a gift card to spend there.  She obviously knows the key to my heart 🙂

6.  Even though I am a complete health nut and eat healthy 99% of the time, I make some pretty mean Christmas cookies 🙂

Ever since I was little, I have been baking Christmas cookies.  My Grandma was an AMAZING cook and baker, and her and my aunt have passed down  and taught me how to make all of her family’s Christmas cookie recipes.  Some people make 2 or 3 different types of cookies for the holidays; we make somewhere around 20.  Crazy, I know! My aunt and I do most of the baking now, and we make a combination of my Grandma’s traditional recipes along with new ones we find each year.  This past year, I even started selling them, and was way more successful than I thought I would ever be.  Baking is one of my favorite things to do, so making a little money doing it was an awesome bonus 😉

7.  I am a HUGE country music fan.

Three out of the five radio presets in my car are for country stations.  There aren’t many country songs that I don’t like.  Some of my favorite artists are Rascal Flatts, Sugarland, Jason Aldean, and Brad Paisley.  Last summer, I went to Nashville to the CMA Festival (aka 4 nights of AWESOME concerts) and got to see some of my favorites perform.  Definitely one of the most fun experiences I’ve ever had.   I am pretty much always down for a country concert.  In July of last year two friends and I traveled to the Medina County Fair (aka the middle of nowhere) to see Josh Turner, and it was so much fun!

8. My two favorite sports are volleyball and basketball.

In high school, I was a super competitive athlete.  Being 6 feet tall, I suppose it’s only natural that I played volleyball and basketball.  It was definitely hard making the decision of whether or not to play sports in college, and even though I decided not to go somewhere to play, I still play as often as I can, and OSU makes that really easy because they have an awesome intramural organization.  My uncle is the basketball coach at my high school, so I go back and play against his team a lot during their season, and play some rec volleyball here and there, too.  I want to try to play some sand volleyball this spring/summer, so I can’t wait for the weather to start warming up!

9.  My guilty pleasure is the Bachelor. No explanation needed. I can’t help it! 

10.  I love my nephew (okay he’s technically not my nephew) Jameson!

My cousin Teri had a baby this past August and he is by far the cutest baby in the entire world (not that I’m biased or anything).  Jameson technically isn’t my nephew, but close enough, right?  I’m one of the youngest kids in my family so I have never really had any experience with babies, so having him around has been so much fun 🙂

11. I am completely new to the blogging world, but already love it so much!

I LOVE reading blogs about healthy living, food, and exercise, and am so excited to have finally joined in on the fun with a blog of my own!  I still have a lot to learn, but so far I’m just enjoying being able to write about and share things that I am passionate about and learning new things from other bloggers, too.  Can’t wait to continue the journey!!

QUESTIONS FROM CHAARG:

1. What is one thing on your bucketlist that you want to cross off in 2012?

See Jason Aldean in concert 🙂

2. You’re at Starbucks. What do you order?

I’m not really a huge coffee person, although I have been getting more into it lately.  I honestly would have no idea what to order from Starbucks!

3. If you could be on one TV show, if could be reality TV or a game show, which one would you like to star in?

Hmmm…the Bachelor!? Haha, just kidding!  That one is only for watching 🙂

4. Ideal date?

Any country concert!

5. A bad habit that you want to get rid of but just can’t?

Chewing gum.  I’m addicted,

6. What do your fingernails look like right now?

They are currently a mess, polish chipping all over the place…time for a manicure?

7. What’s your favorite machine to use at the gym?

Punching bag!

8. If you had to pick a new language to learn, what would it be and why?

Probably Spanish, since I took 4 years of it in high school already 🙂

9. Where’s your favorite place to buy a bathing suit?

Target!

10. Zip Lining or Sky Diving?

Hmmm…zip lining?

11. What’s your favorite thing to do when you procrastinate?

Read blogs! Or Pinterest…

 

MY QUESTIONS:

1.  What is your favorite movie of all time?

2.  What is the background on your computer?

3.  When is your birthday?

4.  Team iPhone or team Droid?

5.  What is your all time favorite food to eat?

6.  What is your all time favorite food to make?

7.  What is a song on your iPod that you would be embarrassed to tell people you listen to?

8.  What is the craziest workout you’ve ever done?

9.  If you could be a character on any TV show, who would you be?

10.  What is your favorite holiday?

11.  What is/are your favorite blog(s) to read?

MY TAGS:

Once you do it, post a comment with the link to your blog 🙂

http://www.theleangreenbean.com/

http://www.healthyhitsthespot.com/

http://www.pure2raw.com/

http://www.elements2lead.com/

http://www.healthydivaeats.com/

http://caitplusate.com/

http://www.sixthofapril.com/

http://www.beyond-bananas.com/

http://www.gothextramileblog.com/

http://www.dashingdish.com/

http://cleaneatingchelsey.com/

Can’t wait to learn more about you guys!

 

Leave a Reply

