Catching up!

Good morning!

This past week has been so busy I haven’t had time to post much, so I am going to try and catch up a little before I start studying like a mad woman for my two finals this week!

Lately I’ve been trying a lot of new things (especially some awesome recipes I’ve been finding on other blogs), while still enjoying some of my usual favorites 🙂

The one thing I have been obsessing over for the past two weeks is oats!  I used to eat oatmeal every morning and then I stopped for awhile, but now I am back to being totally addicted!  Plus I also used to just throw them i the microwave to save time, but now that I have made them on the stove I will never go back to microwaving again!  They are SO much better! Also, why am I just now discovering how good peanut butter is with oatmeal?!  I have totally been missing out on this.

The combo I have been making lately consists of:

1/4 cup steel cut oats

2/3 cup water

1/3 cup almond milk

Cinnamon

1 tbsp natural peanut butter

Blueberries

1/2 banana

Granola (sprinkled on top)

Yesterday when I woke up, I wanted to try something a little different, so I decided to make some apple cinnamon breakfast quinoa.  I had never made quinoa for breakfast before, so I thought I would give it a shot.  I’m glad I did!  It was delicious and super filling.  It was a nice switch up from the oatmeal and I love the apple cinnamon flavor!

I combined:

1/4 cup uncooked quinoa

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup almond milk

Cinnamon

1/8 tsp stevia

1 small apple (chopped)

Speaking of quinoa…I also used some last week in an attempt to make homemade granola!  Again, I had never done this before, so it was kind of an experiment, but I thought  it turned out pretty good!  It didn’t get as crunchy as I hoped it would, but it still adds some nice flavor and texture to a cup of Chobani or a bowl of oats!

It had:

3 cups cooked quinoa

1 cup rolled oats

cinnamon

1/3 cup chopped pecans

1/3 cup sugar free maple syrup

I mixed all of the ingredients together and spread it out onto a large baking sheet covered in parchment paper.  It cooked for about an hour at 325, tossing it about every 10 minutes.  Maybe next time I would turn the heat up a little to try and get it a little crunchier?

 

Every Friday night, my mom’s side of the family and some friends come over to our house.  And everyyy Friday night we order pizza.  Lately, I have been skipping out on the take out pizza and making my own healthy version of pizza on mini whole grain tortillas.

This week I made a veggie pizza with:

1 high fiber whole wheat tortilla

1 tsp olive oil

1/4 cup mozzerella cheese

1/4 cup chopped mushrooms

1/2 sliced tomato

banana peppers

I like to mix up the toppings, so sometimes I add sundried tomatoes, spinach, grilled chicken, regular pizza sauce…pretty much anything!  And I always make sure to sprinkle some oregano on top 🙂

Just brush the olive oil or pizza sauce over the tortilla, add the cheese, and then any other toppings you choose.  Bake at 400 for about 7 minutes, or util the cheese is melted.  These are so good and have all the flavors of a regular pizza without all the grease and extra fat and calories!

And last but not least, desserts!  I love finding healthy ways to indulge a sweet tooth, and these two things are both perfect ways to do just that.

First, is three ingredient apple crisp. This recipe is so simple and easy to make, and also gives you an extra serving of fruit for the day 🙂

To make:

Slice one small apple and sprinkle with cinnamon.  Microwave for about a minute and a half, or until slices are soft.

Next, cut up the apple into small chunks and put into a small bowl.  Top with granola (and more cinnamon if desired).  You can even add a little fat free Reddi whip if you’re feeling really crazy 😉

The next recipe sounded a little unusual to me when I saw it on www.pbfingers.com , but also really good at the same time: Avacado Chocolate Mousse.

This too was super easy to make.  The recipe called for dark chocolate cocoa, but I only had regular on hand.  All you do it put 1 avacado, 31/2  tbsp cocoa powder, and 31/2  tbsp honey in a food processor and mix until you get a whipped, mousse-like texture.  You can’t even taste the avacado; it just tastes like chocolate!  This is an awesome way to enjoy dessert and incorporate some healthy fats into your diet!

Yum!

My aunt Carla and cousin Ashley were in town from Nashville for my uncle’s birthday party this weekend, and since they are also participating in Foodie Penpals, we (along with my mom) all decided to go shopping for our penpals together.  We had so much fun picking out things to put in our packages and of course did a little shopping for ourselves, too 🙂  Shockingly enough, this was my first time going to Trader Joe’s, and I cannot believe I have been missing out all this time!  It is slowly creeping up on Whole Foods as my favorite store.

After visiting both stores, we got a lot of good stuff, but I must say my favorite purchase of the day had to be…. the Chocolate Covered Sunflower Seeds! These things are seriously addicting! I even added some to my oats this morning 🙂

Ashley and I!

 Birthday party fun!

Some of our shopping purchases 🙂

 Sunflower seed oats!

Welp, I think I’ve covered just about everything 🙂  Now it’s time to switch gears into full time study mode for the next 4 days until finals are OVER and it’s time for Spring Break!

Hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

