LiveFit Catch Up!

Ok, I swear I’m not dead! I’ve just been super busy these past couple weeks with a new quarter starting at school and haven’t been very good about posting. I promise I will try to do better πŸ™‚

So, I am finishing up Phase One of the LiveFit Trainer this week. I can’t believe it has already been a whole month! I have been loving this program, and getting back into weight training has been awesome. Next week starts Phase Two which means adding some cardio to the workouts, which will be exciting after doing only weight training for the past four weeks.Β  Today I had a great leg workout.

Since it’s been SO long since I last posted, here is a bunch of things I’ve been eating while on the trainer. As you will notice, there is PLENTY of protein! It’s crazy how eating smaller meals every two to three hours has really reved up my metabolism. These workouts are a lot different than what I’ve been used to and my body is definitely reacting to them. I am getting hungry so much sooner now, which is good because I know it’s working! πŸ™‚

Here we go!

I tried my first batch of overnight oats last week. How have I been missing out on these for so long?! They are so easy to make and it’s always awesome to have breakfast already made in the morning. I have even brought them to campus for lunch a few times. It’s safe to say people in the library were staring…maybe they were just jealous? πŸ˜‰

I also tried a new recipe for regular oatmeal, which I like to call Cocoa Bananas Egg White Oats. Have you ever put egg whites in your oatmeal? Best. Idea. Ever! On the meal plan for the trainer, protein is needed in every meal, and while I like egg whites scrambled, it’s nice to switch it up a little and add them to the oatmeal sometimes. Plus, it makes the oats super fluffy and you have a HUGE bowl!

In the bowl went:

1/4 cup steel cut oats

1 cup water

1/3 cup almond milk

cinnamon

3 egg whites

I cooked all of this up on the stove until I was sure the eggs were done cooking and had a big, fluffy batch of oats. Then I poured it into my bowl and added cocoa powder, half of a sliced banana, and some Love Grown granola on top. Yum!

Moving onto lunch….

This could technically be a breakfast meal, but I took it for lunch last week and it was awesome πŸ™‚ It is a carrot cake powercake! It’s not in normal powercake form, because I had to cut it up to put in a tupperware to take with me to school, but it is one of the many great recipes from Kasey at www.powercakes.net. These were a little more biscuit-like than the other powercakes I have tried, so I poured some sugar free syrup and almond milk over it to soften it up and it was perfect!

This was just a grilled chicken breast on a whole wheat tortilla with some lettuce and honey mustard and a side of cauliflower. Starch, protein, and veggies: check!

Here are some dinners (which usually end up as lunch the next day in leftover form).

Here, I scrambled some egg whites with mushrooms and cauliflower and had half a sweet potato with some almond butter on top. I got the almond butter idea from someone on instagram and wow was it a good combo!

Sweet potato again! (Is it obvious I’m obsessed with them?) This time with Jamie Eason’s turkey muffins and broccoli.

20120412-221432.jpg

 

The other night I had turkey tacos with ground turkey, lettuce, tomato, salsa, and black beans. The only thing I was missing was the Avacado! 😦

20120412-221625.jpg

This next one is an awesome chicken recipe that my mom makes. You wrap a piece of chicken in foil with olive oil, pesto, zucchini, tomatoes, and onion and bake it in the oven. So simple and so good! Not to mention gorgeous!

20120412-221906.jpg

This last one might just be my new favorite. Cauliflower pizza! Yes, that’s right. The crust is made out of cauliflower! Just combine 1 cup of mashed cauliflower with 1 egg white and a little oregano and parsley and bake it at 350 for about 8 minutes and then top with anything you want (I chose mozerella, chicken, and mushrooms). So good!

20120412-222217.jpg

Lastly, here are some snacks!

Of course, Jamie Eason’s protein bars. The lemon flavor is my new favorite!

20120412-222321.jpg

Rice cakes and my new favorite thing in the world….PB2!

20120412-222409.jpg

20120412-222420.jpg

And last, chocolate protein shake in a bowlΒ with almond milk and crumbled rice cake with peanut butter (or PB2).

20120412-222553.jpg

Well that’s all for eats right now. I’ll try my best to never wait this long to post again so I don’t have to overload like this! Whoops!

Oh, and one last thing. My new favorite toy arrived last week: my polar ft40 heart rate monitor! I am loving it!

20120412-222837.jpg

That’s all for now πŸ™‚

Hope everyone has a great Friday!

2 thoughts on “LiveFit Catch Up!

  1. Wow girl! There is a LOT of deliciousness in this post for sure!

    I just started LiveFit again a few weeks ago…I started once before, but then I ended up having a freak accident and spraining my lower back so I was out of commission for almost 3 weeks. I figured I’d just start over since most of my endurance/strength was shot anyway. I just finished up week 2 so I’m looking forward to the weights change up for the next 2 weeks and then I’ll finally make it to Phase 2 for the first time! Definitely excited to see how it goes.

    Welcome to the WONDERFUL world of overnight oats…aren’t chia seeds amazing! Who knew what those little buggers were capable of? I have GOT to try Jamie’s turkey muffins! I keep kicking myself every time I see someone blog about it or post it on Instagram…I have ALL the ingredients, I just have to pull the turkey out of the freezer! TOMORROW…hold me to it! And holy moly, that chicken recipe of your mom’s…I need to try that!

    Alright, that’s enough of a novel for now, huh? πŸ˜‰ Happy weekend!

    • I love that so many people are doing LiveFit! It was so weird doing no cardio in Phase One, so I hope I remember what it feels like tomorrow in my first Phase 2 workout! Haha. Do you have any go-to foods that you’ve been eating for snacks and stuff? I have definitely been overloading on cottage cheese, Jamie’s protein bars, protein shakes, and of course turkey muffins πŸ™‚ All of which are super good, but I feel like I need some more variety!

      Did you make the turkey muffins today!?

Leave a Reply

