Wedding, Phase Two, and Whole Foods shopping spree :)

Hey everyone!

So last weekend was super busy for my family.  We left Friday morning to go to Youngstown for my uncle’s wedding and stayed there through Sunday.  The trip was only about 2 and a half hours from Columbus, so we got there pretty fast and had some time to grab some lunch and hang out at the hotel before we headed to the rehearsal dinner.  For the rest of Friday night and most of Saturday morning we had fun just hanging out and relaxing.  And of course I got my LiveFit workout in on Saturday morning 🙂  The hotel we stayed at didn’t have a great gym (only cardio machines, no weights) so luckily my aunt Carla had brought her resistance bands in her suitcase!  I was able to complete my last Phase One workout right there in the hotel room!  Obviously it wasn’t an ideal situation, but sometimes we have to make due with the circumstances we are given.  And let me tell you, those bands are no joke!

I also did the best I could to stay on track with clean eating while we were away.  I packed lots of healthy snacks like fresh fruit, cottage cheese, Chobani, rice cakes, and peanut butter.  I knew I wasn’t going to be perfect the whole weekend, but I wanted to make sure I was prepared with some healthy options!  We ate breakfast at the hotel Saturday and Sunday and I got wheat toast with egg whites and fresh fruit both mornings.  Not too shabby!

The rehearsal dinner and wedding meals were both Italian food, so I mostly stuck with chicken and lots of veggies!  And of course, I had a piece of the wedding cake 🙂  Come on, who could pass that up!?

Overall, it was a fun weekend spent with family and friends. Here are a few pics from the event!

My cousin Ashley, me, and my sister Lindsay before the wedding!

20120419-174058.jpg

Me, my mom, my aunt Carla (resistance band supplier!, and Ashley

20120419-174112.jpg

Another cousin shot!

20120419-174155.jpg

Getting our groove on!

After a fun weekend, it was back to work and school on Monday.  And even more important, onto Phase Two of the LiveFit trainer…which meant only one thing. Guess who’s back…back again! That’s right. CARDIO is back!  After a whole month of doing only weight training and zero cardio, I was more than ready for a switch up.  Phase Two also meant that the strength training portion would switch up again, which is always nice.  The workouts this week have been kicking my butt and I’m totally loving it!  I’ve been completing the strength exercises first and then following them up with 30 minutes on the eliptical., except for on leg days when the cardio is omitted.  Feeling the burn!

I took this after my first Phase Two workout.  Awesome burn and a little post-workout fuel!

20120419-174325.jpg

This was my first Phase Two leg day….safe to say I was super sore today after that one!

20120419-174355.jpg

Yesterday I made a Whole Foods stop to put this little gem to good use 🙂  Have I mentioned that Whole Foods is my favorite store (yes, I’m talking out of ALL stores, including clothing stores).  My cousin Teri, her husband Nick, and Nick’s parents got me this a few weeks ago after I put together some healthy meal plans and a recipe book for them.  They wanted to start incorporating more nutritious options into their diets and so far have liked a lot of the recipes! I LOVE sharing recipes and healthy food ideas with others, so this was an awesome opportunity for me.  Thank you guys! 🙂

I picked up some chia seeds and KIND bars, and also a couple new things.  First off, I got some nutritional yeast.  I have NO idea what to do with it, but see/read about it everywhere so I figured I would give it a shot!  If any of you out there have any suggestions for uses of it they would be greatly appeciated 🙂

20120419-174416.jpg

I must say though, the most exciting purchase had to be these babies:

I had seen these on other blogs and on Instagram and had to give them a try!  No, you are not going crazy…it really does say 150 for THE WHOLE PINT.  Yeah, that’s right.  I got the chocolate for my mom and the chocolate peanut butter for myself (because we all know it it literally impossible for me to pass up anything containing PB).  We are going to try them tonight, so I will give a full update in my next post 🙂  I hope they are as good as I’m hoping they will be!

I tried a new protein pancake recipe last night and took them in my lunch today cold.  I used  1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, and 4 egg whites, plus cinnamon, vanilla, and a little stevia.  Today at lunch I topped them with som PB2 and skim milk.  Pretty good!  I must add that I ate these in the library at school, and once again (just like with the overnight oats) got plenty of stares.  I guess these just aren’t your typical college student meals?  Haha oh well!

20120419-174433.jpg

Confession:  I have pretty much been stalking Kristin (aka Stuft Mama’s) blog ALL afternoon.  Which is where I got the inspiration for my afternoon snack.  I used a high fiber tortilla and sprayed it with some olive oil cooking spray and sprinkled it with cinnamon and a little stevia.  I put it on a baking sheet covered with foil and a little more cooking spray and baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 7 minutes.  Then I mixed some chocolate PB2 (can you tell I’m obsessed with this stuff?) into vanilla Chobani. Oh and added a couple of Annie’s Homegrown Bunny Grahams on top.  SO. FREAKING. GOOD.  Most definitely making this every afternoon from now on!  Thanks Kristin!

20120419-174440.jpg

Tonight for dinner, I am making some of Jamie Eason’s Italian turkey burgers, so stay tuned 🙂

Leave a Reply

