Leg Day and Whey Alternatives

Hey everyone!

Today was leg day at the gym!  I love the way that leg workouts get my heart rate up and make me seriously sweat!  I pretty much hogged the squat rack for like a half an hour…luckily there weren’t many people at the  gym 😉  This is what Day 51 of the LiveFit Trainer looked like:

I have to say that the barbell lunges absolutely KILL me.  Twenty reps a set feels like 100!  But they are definitely worth it.

I got the leg workout in this morning between my classes, then headed back to the gym this afternoon for about an hour of cardio.  Before my second workout, I made a snack of 2 rice cakes with sugar-free jam and PB2 and half a sliced banana on top.  Not the most attractive looking snack, but still did the job!

  I did both the eliptical and row machine today for cardio.  I get too bored doing just one thing, so I like to switch it up!  Leg day + cardio = major cal burnage!

 Also, if anyone out there knows any good alternatives to whey protein, please enlighten me!  I have been using whey ever since I started the Live Fit program, and recently it has been making me sick.   I think it might have something to do with the lactose or milk or whatever is in it.  So, if anyone has any suggestions for alternative protein powders, I would LOVE to hear them 🙂 I’ve heard of other kinds like soy protein, brown rice protein, Sunwarrior, Vega, and egg white protein, but I have no idea which is best.  I appreciate any insight!

Hope everyone has a good night! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Leg Day and Whey Alternatives

  1. Hey girl! I use designer whey but currently have some EAS soy protein powder and LOVE it. I picked up the chocolate flavor & only used half of a scoop with almond milk, I’ve, 1/2 banana and some pb2…. It was the BEST protein shake I have ever had. I highly recommend soy protein powder!

  2. Hey! Thanks for the tip! I will definitely have to try the soy 🙂 I just wish I could finish off all the whey I still have first! Haha That smoothie sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

