Chest, Abs, and a New Diabetes Study

Hey guys!

So today was chest and abs day for me at the gym.  I loved the supersets, especially the dumbell fly and dumbell bench press combo. I was definitely feeling the burn! I am both excited and nervous to start Phase 3 of the trainer next week.  Everyone says they love the sprints…I guess I’ll just have to wait and see for myself! Oh and the carb cycling…should be interesting!

Dinner tonight was pretty simple: grilled chicken with broccoli and some Sabra hummus.

I also had some strawberries with lite cool whip for dessert 🙂

Simple yet always so good!

Anyways, the realllly cool thing I want to talk about is a new study I am taking part in.  A couple weeks ago when I was at my endocrinologist’s office for a normal appointment, they asked me if I would like to be a part of a study that tests to see if type 1 diabetics are still producing any insulin.   I had been hearing about this and thought it would be awesome  to be a part of it (not to mention they also said they would pay me 😉 ).

So last week, I went back into the office for some simple blood tests.  They said they would call me back in a few days with the results.  The next thing I knew, they called and told me that I AM producing insulin!!! (In case you don’t know, type 1 diabetics typically do not produce any).  How crazy is that?  Even my doctor is shocked!

I am going back next weekend for the next part of the test.  Since I tested positive for producing insulin, the next step is sort of like a glucose tolerance test, where I will fast in the morning and not take any insulin, and then drink some sort of protein/nutrition shake, and then test my blood sugar at different times to see how the levels react.  I’m not sure of all the details yet or what any of this actually means, but I will definitely be writing about it when it’s over!

Things like this make me even more hopeful that I will see a cure in my lifetime 🙂

Have a good night everyone!

One thought on “Chest, Abs, and a New Diabetes Study

  1. OMG i had the same problem, even though i thought i was eating pretty healthy my insulin lvls were high…. I realized i was eating waaaaay too many carbs, alot of white rice, whole wheat bread, whole wheat crackers, oatmeal etcccc… all that “healthy stuff” (Except for the white stuff) and working out on a daily basis.
    after the exam i lowered them (i dont eat rice anymore, just quinoa and not toooo much) not eating starchy carbs in every meal and lots of veggieeeees.
    3 months later i took the exam (3 hours long… the glucose drink is so nasty!! )and my levels were normal!! 😀

    btw im isidoraz on instagram 😉

Leave a Reply

