End of Phase 2, Another Mug Cake, and Fro-yo Friday

Good morning! 🙂

Today I started off my day with my LAST workout of phase two of the Live Fit Trainer!  I can’t believe I am starting Phase 3 this week!  I am so glad I have stuck with this program and not given up on it.  It has gotten me back into weight training and keeps me accountable for my workouts.  I love it!

So as you can probably tell from my last post, I have a new found love for mug cakes! After trying the chocolate one on Wednesday, I knew I wanted to experiment with other kinds, and I knew exactly where I wanted to start.  I had seen this recipe for a Pumpkin Protein Cake from Kristin at Stuft Mama and have been wanting to try it for a couple of weeks, but kept forgetting to pick up some pumpkin at the store.  Lucky for me, when I finally got around to getting some, it was on sale for $0.50 a can! Yes. Fifty freaking cents! So I stocked up and got about four cans since I had a feeling I would want to be making this recipe A LOT 🙂  And boy was I right!

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup egg substitute (I used 3 egg whites)

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

2 tablespoons vanilla soymilk (I used vanilla almond milk)

2 tablespoons coconut flour

2 splenda packets (I used just a little stevia)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

cinnamon to taste

pumpkin pie spice to taste

splash of vanilla

Combine all ingredients. Pour into large mug sprayed with nonstick cooking spray. Microwave for about 5 minutes.

I topped mine with a little Choco Choco PB Crave and a few crumbled Annie’s bunnies.

And this was the end result:

 Annnnnd now for a close up:

This even topped the chocolate one from my previous post, plus has a lot more protein!  It’s a winner! 🙂

Moving on to other things…yesterday I did some double time at the gym.  During my first session, I completed the last leg workout of Phase 2, followed by about 40 minutes of cardio.  Since it was leg day, I fueled up with an egg white and sugar free jam sandwich on 2 slices of Ezekial bread.

Afterwards, I went to work for the afternoon before heading back to the gym for a quick eliptical workout.  Before I left work, I snacked on a banana for some energy.

But the really exciting part is what came AFTER I left the gym…

FROYO!

I have officially decided to rename Friday “Fro-day.”  Every Friday for the past 3 weeks, I have stopped on my way home from work and the gym to the frozen yogurt place on campus.  So, I’ve decided to pretty much just make it a weekly tradition.  After a week of working hard in the gym and eating clean, why not treat yourself? I’m on a mission to try as many combinations as possible 🙂

Last night, I went with no sugar added strawberry yogurt, pecans, almonds, toasted coconut, strawberries, chocolate covered pretzels, and cheesecake bits. Yum!

It’s definitely important to treat yourself every once in awhile, especially if it is something you truly enjoy!

I’m off to spend a little time studying for a few tests I have coming up this week.  Hope everyone has a great Saturday! 🙂

What’s your favorite frozen yogurt combo?

What’s your favorite way to treat yourself?

6 thoughts on “End of Phase 2, Another Mug Cake, and Fro-yo Friday

  1. Ooh that pumpkin mug cake looks good! I wish I could find some 50 cent cans of pumpkin in Raleigh…
    One of my fav fro-yo combos is pomegranate and vanilla with mochi- yum!

    • Haha! I wish I would have bought more actually! I might have to make a trip back to the store this weekend…

      But I’m glad you mentiond mochi because I was tempted to try it last night but got a little scared! Haha. What exactly is it??

    • Thanks Katie! You should definitely try it! And thank you. I’m excited! 🙂

      P.S. I am making your energy bites to pass on to my May foodie penpal! (Told you I am obsessed). There is no way I could not share those with someone else!

  2. Pingback: Whole30 Update and a PB Crave Winner! « Taylor Made

  3. Pingback: Whole 30: Round 2! « Taylor Made

Leave a Reply

