Pool Day and Rest Days

Hey everyone!

I hope you all had a chance to enjoy this beautiful weekend!

First of all, I decided to take another rest day yesterday.  Phase 3 of the LiveFit has been super intense so far, and I feel like I haven’t been giving my body enough time to rest.  I decided to let myself relax for a couple of days, and start back up with the workouts fresh on Monday.  So yesterday, rest day = pool day!  My aunt has a pool, and it is definitely my family’s number one hang out spot during the summer.  We just opened it last weekend, so yesterday was the first real day we got to make some use out of it.  And boy was it gorgeous out!

Check out that water!

Even Poco was catching some rays 🙂

For dinner, we grilled out with some brats, turkey brats, and turkey burgers.  I went with a burger topped with some delicious guacamole that my cousin Teri made and some edamame on the side. Yum!

Once we left the pool, I decided to go on a little Trader Joe’s run.  It’s been awhile since I’ve been there, so I figured I would go browse around for some new things to try 🙂 (It also may or may not have had something to do with Kerry Beth’s Instagram post of their famous Cookie Butter, which, being the nut butter freak that I am,  I immediately needed to get my hands on).

So here is what I picked up.  It’s safe to say I had a sweet tooth craving last night?

Don’t worry, there were some healthy purchases, too!

Let me just say…to anyone out there who has never had Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, run…I repeat: RUN, do not walk….to go get some RIGHT NOW. They are seriously HEAVEN!

Last night I also made Dashing Dish’s Cake Batter Protein Shake and added some Puffins and a crumbled almond cookie on top. Super good!

This morning started the carb-cycling phase of the Live Fit trainer, so I did my best to stick as close to the meal plan Jamie layed out.  For breakfast, I had the usual egg whites and Ezekial bread, except I topped it with peanut butter instead of jam.  I used the Peanut Butter Co. White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter that I just recieved from my foodie penpal on Friday. LOVE IT! 🙂

After breakfast, my mom and I got ready and headed over to campus for a 4 mile walk at Beekman Park.

Ready to go!

 It was another gorgeous day, sunny with a nice breeze, and perfect for walking outside!  I had forgotten how great of a workout walking can really be, especially when the incline changes like it does at Beekman.  There was an event going on at the park, so there was even some music playing!

After our walk, we headed to the grocery store to pick up a few things before going home for lunch. We got ingredients to make some homemade trail mix, which included almonds, pecans, walnuts, chocolate covered almonds, yogurt covered raisins, and all natural peanut butter pretzels.  I think it tastes even better than the store  bought kind!

Lunch was a turkey burger, sweet potato with cinnamon, and broccoli.

I decided to make a batch of Jamie Eason’s protein bars today because I haven’t made any in awhile.  I tried the chocolate kind and they turned out pretty good!  They taste like brownies. but with only 35 calories per square, and obviously lots of protein!  I topped mine with some PB2 for an afternoon snack.

Dinner was turkey meatballs and a salad with feta and Annie’s raspberry vinaigrette dressing.

Yeah, I know.  I’ve really got to start working on my food photography skills….

I’m off to get back to studying physiology…only 3 more weeks until summer! I keep reminding myself that next weekend is a long weekend for Memorial Day.  Just gotta make it through the week! 🙂

Goodnight everyone!

Leave a Reply

