New Salad Love and RW Run Streak

Hey everyone!

I know I have been MIA for the last few days. Finals week = busy, busy, busy! I got my first final out of the way on Monday and now just have my Physiology final to take on Thursday morning and I will officially be done with my sophomore year of college.  Crazy!

So recently I have been LOVING salads. This normally wouldn’t be an unusual statement…except for the fact that I have never, ever, EVER liked salads. Ever. In my entire life. Whenever I tell people I don’t like salad they always seem shocked because I eat so healthy.  I don’t know what it always was, but I never liked to eat them.  Until now! I have been venturing out and trying them and am honestly mad at myself for never eating them before!

Last week, I had Panera’s strawberry poppyseed chicken salad for the first time. It has all sorts of fruit lke strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and mandarin oranges, and also chicken and pecans. It is SO good! I actually got it again for dinner tonight 🙂  It is super filling, too, so I have been able to get two meals out of it. Score!

I also got a salad at Chipotle this weekend topped with chicken, black beans, tomato salsa, corn salsa, and of course…Guac!

This is crazy considering I never even used to get lettuce on top of my bowl!

If anyone out there has any awesome salad recipes they would like to share, I would LOVE to hear about them and try them out!

Something else I started this weekend was the Runner’s World Run Streak Challenge!  This is a challenge where you run at least one mile every day from Memorial Day to the Fourth of July.  I started a couple of days late, but better late than never right?

Now let me just say, I am NOT a runner. Of any type. I joined the track team once in 5th grade and literally quit a day later. It has just never been my thing.  I really wish I could be one of those people who love to run and do races and marathons and everything, but I figured I would start slow with a challenge like this.  One mile a day is all it takes!

Here was my first day of the streak. Sweatay!

I also got the Nike+ GPS app to help me track my runs, and I love it!  I’m not super concerned with my times at this point, but I hope to eventually improve them by the end of the streak.

Both yesterday and today I decided to get my mile in in the form of HIIT sprints.  30 seconds sprinting, 30 seconds resting.  And of course I had a green monster for recovery 🙂

Short workout, but super effective. Just how I like it!

Hope everyone is having a great week! And it’s not too late to jump on the RW Run Streak bandwagon! Just one mile a day!

10 thoughts on “New Salad Love and RW Run Streak

  1. I’ve been on a run streak four months now of a mile at least a day I use the same app!

    Also with salads I’m the same wouldnt use to touch lettuce or veggies. Still haven’t tried a fruity salad like that but the best salads to me are just your favorite foods chopped and put on top salad! Like I had a goulash salad yesterday!

    • That’s awesome! I love it because it makes me commit to actually doing it every day!

      But I totally agree! I can’t wait to try out some new kinds and see what other combos go well together 🙂

      • Yeah I have kept it for 4 months now even one day in march it was like 30 degrees I busted out a 7 minute sprint mile!

        My salads are a little limited due to the fact that I don’t like cheese though! I may learn to like it though?

  2. haha so funny that you weren’t a salad person! I love a good fruity salad, especially in the summer.
    Congrats on the running streak. I really need to get in that habit!

    • I am loving it so far! And I have never been a runner. But it’s something I have been wanting to incorporate into my workouts and this is a great way to start off slow 🙂

  3. Girl I feel your pain. It is crazy how busy you get during finals week! Mine start tomorrow so I really probably shouldn’t be reading blogs right now, but I simply can’t miss out on everyone’s yummy food!

    P.S. I love Panera’s Strawberry Poppyseed Salad too! In the summertime all I want is salads with fruit & goat cheese 🙂 Good luck on your last final!

    • Haha! I totally know what you mean! I should not be writing a post right now, but I can’t help it!

      And yummm the goat cheese addition sounds perfect with fruit! Definitely going to have to try that!

      Good luck on your finals, too!!!

Leave a Reply

