Farmer’s Market and Pumpkin Yonanas

Hey guys!

Yesterday, when I got up I decided to go for a run outside in my neighborhood.  Ever since I started running on the beach in Hilton Head with my aunt Carla, I have been loving running outside!  Since I finished the LiveFit trainer, it’s been kind of nice to do a different kind of workout besides weight training.  I definitely want to get back into weight lifting soon, but running has been a nice change of pace for me.

I’ve also been thinking about signing up for the Color Run, which comes to Columbus sometime in July.  It looks so fun! Anyone with me!?

The nice thing about my neighborhood is that going around the entire thing once is almost exactly a mile and a half, so twice around is just over 3 miles. Yesterday, I did 3 miles, and this morning before work I went for just one quick lap around. I’m not gonna lie, I did NOT want to get out of bed when my alarm went off at 5:30.  But I felt SO good when I was done!

After my run this morning, I made a veggie scramble with 1 whole egg, 3 whites, broccoli, cauliflower, and sweet potato.  Yum! I’ve been loving veggies for breakfast the past few days.  I started reading The Paleo Solution on vacation and while I typically eat pretty clean, I really want to work on the majority of my diet coming from whole, natural foods and elminating as much processed stuff as possible.

The Paleo diet consists of lean meats, vegetables, fruits, nuts, and seeds.  No grains. No dairy.  While I know I will probably not be able to completely eliminate grains or dairy (I love my Greek yogurt and cottage cheese), I want to try reducing them in my diet to see if it makes a difference in how I feel.

While I was weight training and doing the LiveFit trainer, I was obsessed with monitoring my calorie intake and macros and making sure I was eating every few hours on the hour.  I want to try letting go of that and just listen to my body and focus on feeding it nutritious, whole foods when I need them.  I’ve been working on that the past couple days and as weird as it sounds, I feel free for once! No counting calories or worrying about what percentage of my daily intake is from protein or carbs or fat. Just listening to my body!

Speaking of whole, nutritious foods, my mom and I made our first trip to the farmer’s market of the summer yesterday! I love going to the farmers market and knowing that you are buying fresh, local produce! Everything looked SO good! We left with green beans, tomatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, plums, cantalope, and peaches.

We went to my aunt Judi’s for dinner, and she made a fabulous dish using the veggies from the market! We had turkey burgers with a veggie salad consisting of brown rice, tomatoes, zucchini, and edamame.  We also had green beans roasted in olive oil which were TO DIE FOR!

 When we got home, I made use of one the peaches we bought and made my mom and I a little treat.  Warm peaches with coolwhip and Love Grown granola. Mmmmmmm 🙂

Speaking of fruity treats….that reminds me….

The other day after my run I split half of a banana and topped it with almond butter, chia seeds, a few almonds, mini chocolate chips, and some sugar free maple syrup. Can you say clean treat?

Another clean treat I have been totally obsessed with is Stuft Mama’s Peanutty Pumpkin Protein Dip.  And lately, I have been making it into “ice cream.” Yep.

I mix up the ingredients according to the recipe and then freeze it in small bits for a few hours.  Then, I put it in my Yonanas makers and viola! Peanutty Pumpkin Protein “ICE CREAM!”  It is amazeballs.  The Yonanas maker is honestly the best thing ever invented.  I think next I will try freezing Greek yogurt to make some real homemade froyo!

I topped it with Razzle Dazzle PB Crave and some TJ’s Cookie Butter last night. Oh, and of course Puffins. (Totally un-Paleo, whoops).

But how good does this look?! So cold and creamy!

I’m off to go make more of this and watch the Bachelorette.  It’s my true guilty pleasure. You know how at the end of every episode they have the commercial that says, “If you would like to be our next Bachelor or Bachelorette, apply online at….blah, blah, blah….”?  I may or may not have considered it before…

Hope you all have a great night! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market and Pumpkin Yonanas

  1. ah seriously? Aren’t Farmers Markets just the best?! And that’s a great way to eat cookie butter! I always find myself spooning it from the jar straight into my mouth!

Leave a Reply

