It’s Official

I’m starting the Whole 30 next week.

Yep. I said it.

I’ve been reading up on the Paleo diet for awhile now (most recently It Starts with Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig, creators of the Whole 30). One of the biggest reasons I am so interested in giving this a try is because I’ve heard that is works wonders on blood sugar levels, which is totally believeable based on the layout of the diet.  The diet is based on lean meats, eggs, vegetables, fruit, and nuts and seeds.  No grain. No legumes. No dairy.  The source of carbohydrates comes mainly from the fruits and veggies.  Basically, you eat REAL, WHOLE, NATURAL foods!  And that’s IT. No processed crap. No cheats for 30 days (and yes, that means no froyo 😦 )

That means none of this:

None of this:

None of these:

And certainly none of this:

Yeah. I told you it would be hard.

Willpower, Taylor. Willpower.

If you are interested in reading more about the Whole 30, check out the Whole9 website for more info!

There is no doubt it is going to be incredibly difficult, and I know there will be lots of temptations, but I WANT to do this.  Even though I already eat clean, I want to challenge myself with this and cleanse my body and just give it what it was really meant to have.  Real food! I want to see what 30 days can really do, and most importantly, see how much it improves my blood sugar control.

I wanted to write about this and commit to it right here on the blog so that I get it out there for everyone to see and keep myself accountable! Keeping it to myself would allow me to cheat, which I don’t plan on doing!  I will need to practice some MAJOR willpower people! But I know I can do it if I really put my mind to it.

If anyone out there has any good Paleo recipes they would like to share, I would LOVE to see them!  I’ve been on a crazy following streak on Instagram, scoping out every single user with the word “Paleo” or “whole 30” in their profile to get some motivation and ideas for this challenge.  I’ve found some awesome people and recipes, too!

I’m giving myself the rest of the week to read It Starts with Food and get prepared for the Whole 30.  (This week may or may not also involve eatng froyo in mass quantities in preparation for an entire month without it…what??)

I will definitely need some support and motivation throughout this challenge, but am totally up for it and cannot wait to get started! I am excited to see how it will make me feel and to hopefully see some improvements in my blood sugar levels also!

Again, if anyone has any experience with Paleo or the Whole 30 challenge, I would love to hear about it!

Hope you all have a great night 🙂

7 thoughts on “It’s Official

  1. My husband and I have been Sort of following paleo for the last couple months and will soon also beginning the Whole 30. I get so many of my recipes from pinterest. I made a really good banana bread last night that uses coconut flour. Best of luck on your next 30 days!!

Leave a Reply

