Strong is the New Pretty

Hey guys!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend so far.  Today was spent running a bunch of errands with my mom and aunt, including hitting up the North Market, an AWESOME market in downtown Columbus with tons of fresh, local products and pretty much any type of prepared food you can think of.  During the summer they even have a farmers market set up outside where local  farmers and families set up booths with their food.  It was so much fun to finally check it out!  Sadly, it was super crowded so I didn’t get a chance to snap any good pictures.  Guess I’ll just have to make a trip back there soon 🙂

Before I get into the main point of this post, here are a couple pictures from a concert I went to with a couple of friends this week at a little county fair we found in Hartford, Ohio. If you’re a country music fan, you might know Jason Michael Carrol and David Nail.  If you’re not, you’ve probably never heard of them in your

life 🙂 the concert was a lot of fun and it was good to catch up with some friends I hadn’t seen in awhile before school starts back up in a couple weeks.

Okay, now onto the main point of this post 🙂

This week, while I was watching the Olympics, there was a special on where they were talking about the female Olympic athletes, and there was one comment that was made that really caught my attention.  Someone said: “these female athletes  are proving to the world that strong is the new pretty.”.STRONG is the new PRETTY. Did you get that? Well I got it and I freaking LOVE it.

I love that strong female athletes, instead of just “pretty” models or celebrities in magazines, are being seen as positive role models for young girls.  Women with muscular, athletic bodies, not stick thin fashion models, are being seen as beautiful.  I LOVE THAT.

Wheather it’s in magazines, on TV shows, or on the Internet, we are surrounded by media that portrays the “perfect woman” or the “perfect body.” And more often than not, these representations are not even real people (editing, photoshop, etc).   This is why I love the fact that the female Olympians are breaking this mold, and showing that strong, healthy women are beautiful, in every different shape and size.

They are inspiring women everywhere, and showing the world that girls can kick some butt, too.

I would say these two proved this pretty well the other night.

God I love them.

Being a girl who has ALWAYS been into sports, I can’t put into words how much I LOVE this statement. (Have I said LOVE enough in this post, yet?)

STRONG is the new PRETTY.

SWEAT is the new PRETTY.

BEING THE ONLY GIRL IN THE WEIGHT ROOM is the new PRETTY.

MUSCLE is the new PRETTY.

CONFIDENCE is the new PRETTY.

HEALTHY is the new PRETTY.

So, there you have it.  My little rant on how athletic chicks rule.

Oh, and speaking of the Olympics, I need these shoes. Like yesterday.

Naaaasty!

Have a good night everyone! 🙂

What is “the new Pretty” in your eyes?

9 thoughts on “Strong is the New Pretty

  1. I totally agree, being the only girl in the weight room is awesome! Especially when you can lift more than the boys and they stare at you in disbelief:) It truly is amazing watching the Olympics and seeing all the muscles on those girls!

  2. Thanks for following my blog girl!!! Im way new into the blogging world this is all confusing haha, but i will get used to it eventually. Love your posts btw!

      • I am getting the hang of it, its so different from instagram just because I am used to having a ton of followers and feedback on instagram and i only have 6 followers on this. Kinda embarrassing hahah

    • It’s an 8×8 program set up in a 6 day split, each day focusing on one muscle group! So basically you have 3 different exercises a day, and then do 8 sets of 8 reps for each. And then I try to do some kind of cardio 2-3 times a week for 30-45 mins. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

