WIAW: Nashville Edition!

Happy Hump Day everyone! Half way through the week!

It’s time for another round of What I Ate Wednesday, and this week I’m going to recap some of the eats from my trip to Nashville this past weekend! I went down with my aunt and uncle to visit my other aunt and uncle and watch my cousin Ashley play some volleyball! I had so much fun!

Thanks again to Jenn for putting this on!

Let’s begin with the car ride down, shall we?  Six hours in the car is no excuse not to eat clean! I came prepared and packed myself all kinds of clean snacks for the weekend, and even packed my dinner for that night.

Larabars, Kit’s Organic bars, Sunbutter, bananas, Justin’s, trail mixes, and almonds all made it into the snack bag!

Dinner on the go: ground chicken burger with coconut aminos (literally put this stuff on EVERYTHING) and sweet potato with almond buttuh!

I woke up on Friday morning and discovered the HUGE load of veggies in my aunt and uncle’s fridge.  My aunt gets farmers market veggies delivered to her work every week, so they had a TON of fresh vegetables that I gladly helped them put to use 😉  For breakfast I made a 3 egg scramble with tomatoes, cilantro, onion, and guac. SO GOOD!

Shortly after, I headed down to the basement to get a workout in. I did a little warmup on the eliptical and then completed two awesome at home/travel WODs that I found online. Got a great sweat in with TONS of squats!

For lunch, we headed out to this burger joint my uncle had been telling us about called Burger Republic.  Holy crap was it good! I had the Hawaiian Burger (sans bun, duh)  topped with pineapple, avocado, bacon and grilled onions. Oh. My. Gosh. I think it may be one of the best burgers I’ve ever had.  I also had some green beans on the side. Totally paleo! This place was awesome and you could totally tell that they take pride in the freshness and quality of their ingredients. Plus, I had a Red’s shirt on and found out that one of the waiters there was from Cincinatti! How cool is that?

Later that night we picked up Ash from practice and took a little tour around her school’s new fitness center (which is freakin awesome) and then headed out for dinner to a place called Jonathan’s.  They have a hugeee menu with anything you could ever want.  I guess you could say I was on a burger kick that day since I decided to have another one for dinner! This time I got a bison burger with onions, mushrooms, and bleu cheese (not paleo, I know…but so good!).  I also had a sweet potato as my side. Shocking, right? 😉

And obviously since it was Friday…yeah, you know where I’m going with this.  Ash and I got froyo! We went to Sweet Cece’s and piled on the toppings as usual.

I loved Sweet Cece’s because they had their toppings in huge tubes on the walls with handles at the bottom that you twisted to get them out. Such a cute idea! I should be a frozen yogurt conoisseur I swear…

The next day we were up bright and early for Ash’s volleyball tournament! I was pretty much terrible and took no pictures of food this day.  But I did get some action pics of Ash and her team!

She is #17!

Anddd I may have caught a few shots of our second froyo excursion that night…  Again, shocking right? 😉

We left early Sunday morning and headed back home to Columbus.

Cold chicken in a bag and nutrition notes. Sounds like a fun trip to me! 😉

We got home around 4 and I made a quick trip to the store for a couple things I needed for the week. And you know what else may or may not have happened on the outing? This, friends. This may or may not have happened.

So there you have it! What I Ate Wednesday Nashville style, ya’ll!

Don’t forget today is the last day to enter the Closest to the Coconut Challenge contest, so hurry and get those smoothie recipes in!

 

 

6 thoughts on “WIAW: Nashville Edition!

  1. Awesome trip recap 🙂 I’m seriously so motivated by you Taylor, with the workouts and effort to fueling your body with the right foods but also allowing balance to fit in there! It’s not an easy thing to do and your doing a great job.

  2. Pingback: WIAW: Creature of Habit « Taylor Made

Leave a Reply

