New Plan!

Happy Saturday everyone!

Does anyone else love Saturday mornings as much as I do?  I am definitely not one to sleep in on the weekends; I like getting up early and starting the day!  Preferably with breakfast, followed by a nice sweaty workout! And this morning I did just that.

I woke up around 7:30 and made myself a big bowl of Pumpkin Spice Paleo Noatmeal (shocking, right?)  I have yet to get sick of this stuff. I love it! I may or may not have actually had it for breakfast and lunch yesterday….whoops…

After I was done with breakfast, I got dressed and ready for a workout.  Although I have been absolutely loving CrossFit, I’m just not getting myself to the classes as often as I should with the times they offer, and as a result feel like I’ve been losing SERIOUS muscle. No bueno.  So I’ve decided that I’m going to go back to a rotine weight training schedule, with a 5 or 6 day split. This way I know exactly what I will be doing each day, and can fit in my workouts when it fits my schedule best.  I’m not completely ruling CrossFit out, but for now I feel like this is what will work best for me!

So I started off this morning by SMASHING shoulders! Seriously felt so good!

Flexing selfie. Oh yeah. Seriously need to grow these muscles!

After I finished with the weights, I hopped on the tredmill for some light cardio.  Initially I was just going to do a little fast paced walking to cool down, but then I decided to kick it up a notch and do some running.  My sister and I have been talking about doing the Turkey Trot (a little race on Thanksgiving morning) this year, so I definitely need to start adding some runs into my workouts if I want to keep up with her!  In my mind I kept telling myself that I was only going to run for a couple minutes, but just kept pushing myself to do more.  I ended up finishing about 2 and a half miles (which, granted, isn’t much) but really surprised myself.  I love when that happens!

When I was done, I refueled with some protein! I know that protein powder is not paleo or Whole 30, but I’ve been experimenting with adding it back into my diet because I’m really trying to up my protein intake A LOT.  Recently, I’ve been using ISOPURE, which is lactose free.  So far I haven’t noticed any negative side effects of it, so I’m going to stick with it! While my main sources of protein are obviously still coming from whole foods, I think supplementing with the protein powder will definitely help me reach my goals.  Gotta grow those muscles!

How’s that for a sweaty Saturday morning? 😉

Now I’m off to watch the Buckeyes and do some serious studying for a big Nutrition exam I have on Monday.  Hope you all had just as great of a morning as I did!

Are you an earlybird or do you sleep in on the weekends?

Do you supplement with protein powder? What kind do you use?

8 thoughts on “New Plan!

  1. You my friend are AWESOME. I always look so forward to your little updates and posts 🙂 Even though I’m pretty much paleo too, I also supplement with whey isolate (muscle gauge nutrition vanilla rocks my world ;)) I always mix it with frozen bananas to make a softserve after I lift and MAN has it helped in recovery! Sometimes you just can’t fathom having something like chicken or eggs after a workout haha Good for you for listening to your body and supplementing where needed! 🙂
    Best of luck on your Nutrition exam girl!!

  2. Hi, I’m also a type 1 diabetic (have been for 10 years) and I am 20 years old. Ive been having so many issues with high blood sugars in the mornings and knowing which foods to eat to prevent spiking. Over the past 10 years I’ve been on every kind of diet and I was wondering which eating style you’ve found is best for keeping your blood sugars under control? I don’t have a pump anymore either and love shots but I am always having the worst spikes in the morning!

    • Hi Mary! So cool to hear from another T1 out there 🙂 But to answer your question: paleo, paleo, paleo! Ever since changing to a paleo lifestyle over the summer, my blood sugars have been the BEST they have ever been! (I’ve been T1 for almost 10 years now, as well). My last A1C was 6.5, which is the lowest it’s ever been! And I definitely have paleo to thank for it! As for the morning highs, I’m not positive what could be causing them, but I’ve heard a lot about the “dawn phenomenon” which a lot of diabetics experience, so maybe look into that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

