Christmas Fun!

Good morning!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and got to spend time with loved ones and friends. I know I did! The entire weekend was filled with a lot of fun and family for me, and I enjoyed every minute of it!

On Friday night, I got a sudden urge to make some paleo bread.  I haven’t had bread since going paleo, and I had seen some recipes I wanted to try, so I decided to whip some up! I used the recipe from Elana’s Pantry, and it turned out perfect!!

20121226-104759.jpgI have made french toast with it the past few mornings, and let me tell you, I was in heaven!

To make the french toast, I mixed 1/4 cup egg whites, a splash of unsweetened almond milk, a little vanilla, and cinnamon.  I let the toast soak in the egg mixture for about 2 minutes on each side, and then popped it into the skillet until it was done on both sides (just a couple of minutes). Mmmmm! SO good!

20121226-104806.jpg

My aunt, uncle, and cousin were in town from Nashville, so we spent Saturday with my mom’s side of the family.  We all went to my high school’s girls basketball game (my other uncle coaches the team) and then came home to watch the Bucks play (and unfortunately lose to) Kansas.  Still a fun day, though!

Let the Taylor and Ashley photo shoot begin…

20121226-104817.jpg

20121226-104827.jpg

Ash is a froyo lover like me, so I took her on her first trip to Orange Leaf that night!  20121226-104837.jpg

On Sunday, we all went to a Christmas party that we have every year with my mom’s side of the family and some family friends.  We always do a fun gift exchange and this year I ended up with a Dick’s gift card! Score!

20121226-104857.jpg

20121226-104847.jpg

On Monday, we went to Christmas Eve mass at a different church than we normally go to since ours gets SO crowded every year! We went to Holy Family in downtown Columbus, and it is seriously the most beautiful church I have ever seen. My whole family really enjoyed the mass!

Christmas Eve was also Poco’s 10th birthday! Gosh, she is getting so old!

20121226-104920.jpg

Me, my mom, and Linds before we left for mass!

20121226-104929.jpg

After mass, we went out on a search for somewhere to eat.  Pretty much every restaurant was closed, but we finally found Carabba’s open! I didn’t take any pictures of my meal, but I had the biggest bowl of soup I’ve ever seen in my life! It was their minestrone soup, which is basically just like a vegetable soup, and boy was it good! I finished the entire bowl with no trouble 🙂 I also had a few pieces of a bacon and caramelized onion flatbread that I shared with my dad. Totally not paleo, but hey, it’s the holidays!

When we got home, my sister and I exchanged our gifts for each other, like we always do on Christmas Eve.  Matching pajamas, too, of course! Isn’t that an adorable bag I wrapped hers in? Haha.

20121226-105000.jpg

Linds got me an Ohio University Physical Therapy sweatshirt (she goes there now for grad school).  I love it!

We woke up on Christmas morning and all opened gifts at our house before getting ready to head over to my aunt Judi’s house.

When we got to Judi’s, we ate breakfast and then it was time to open gifts with the whole family! Her tree is so pretty!

20121226-105009.jpg

20121226-105021.jpg

The three of us are seriously so spoiled when it comes to Christmas.  We are the only kids on my mom’s side, so we are always SO spoiled with the presents! Our family is awesome 🙂

I have to say that one of my favorite gifts was the Jawbone Up band! It is a wristband that hooks up with an iPhone app to track your daily activity, food, and sleep records.  I’m still playing around with it to figure out all of the things it can do, but I’m loving it so far!

20121226-105342.jpg

Later on, we thought it might be a good idea to take a nice family photo. This is what everyone’s family photos look like, right?

20121226-105215.jpg

And just when you thought that was normal…

20121226-105222.jpg

We had an awesome dinner last night, too! I had prime rib, asparagus, and a sweet potato (covered in almond butter of course).

20121226-113710.jpg

And maybe a fewww Christmas cookies afterwards 😉

20121226-104910.jpg

I had an overall great day, and could not have asked for a better Christmas with my family!

I woke up this morning and started my day off with a long, sweaty workout, which was just what I needed after indulging yesterday! But, hey, it’s okay sometimes! 😉

I started off with a 35 minute incline HIIT workout on the tredmill, followed by a little bis and tris action, Such a good way to start the day!

20121226-105349.jpg

Oh, and I also woke up to this.

20121226-114246.jpg

Hellllooooooo snow! They are calling for 6-12 inches here in Columbus, so my plans for the rest of the day include nothing but lounging around the house!

Hope everyone had a great holiday!

9 thoughts on “Christmas Fun!

  1. Looks like a fun holiday! I just wanted to comment and let you know that I am not sure how I stumbled upon your blog, but I love it! I just started my own, and to be completely honest, modeled mine after yours a little bit just to get started. I love healthy eating and nutrition and finding interesting healthy recipes, and your blog helps me! It is really cute and just wanted to let you know. I look forward to your future blog posts! 🙂

    • That is so awesome that you decided to make your own! Starting a blog is definitely one of the best things that has happened to me this year! Thanks so much for the compliment; I am so flattered! I will definitely be sure to check it out girl!

  2. Pingback: Marvelous in My Monday! « Taylor Made

  3. Hey Taylor, I’m thinking about getting a Jawbone Up. I was wondering if you could give me an honest opinion about it, like how often do you use it, is it worth buying, has it been beneficial to you, etc? I’d love to know how you like it. Thanks! 🙂

    • Hi Amy!

      I am sad to say that I ended up returning my Up band. When comparing it to my Polar heart rate monitor, the numbers were completely off. I just didn’t trust its accuracy when it came to calories burned, which was a main reason I purchased it. However, it was a great tool for tracking food and activity if that is a main motivator for you! The sleep pattern aspect was also very cool to see. So, I guess it just depends on what your use for it will be! I hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

