New Year’s Eve Dinner

Happy New Year everyone!

I hope you all had fun ringing in 2013 last night! I spent the evening with my family at a new restaurant in downtown Columbus called Rodizio Grill.  Rodizio is a Brazilian steakhouse, and is nothing like any restaurant I’ve ever been to before!

Me and my mom before we left!

20130101-112346.jpg

Each person pays one price, and then it’s pretty much an all-you-can-eat type of deal.  The first things they brought out to the table were the appetizers, which were bananas fritas (cinnamon sugar fried bananas) and some a polenta cornbread.  I didn’t get a picture of the cornbread, but it was pretty good! We all agreed that the bananas were just okay, and would have been better with some sort of dipping sauce.

20130101-094902.jpg

Next, they send you off at the salad bar. Holy moley was it awesome! They had so many options, and it was a bit overwhelming, so I decided since it was my first time I would just try a little of everything.

They had all sorts of salads, fruit, pasta, veggies, cheeses, potatoes, and some seafood options. One of my favorites was the coconut and pineapple salad, which is the coleslaw looking salad at the top of the plate. So good!20130101-095000.jpg

Next, they started serving the meat.  This was a really interesting experience, because instead of just ordering one type, the severs all come around with a different meat, so you can try a little of everything! I even got my picture with one of the servers 🙂

20130101-094856.jpgThis particular server was bringing around the bacon-wrapped turkey. Oh. My. Gosh. Talk about paleo heaven!!

Sorry for the unattractive picture, but this kind of gives an idea of all the different types of meats we tried.  Some of my favorites were the garlic beef, parmesan beef, and of course the bacon-wrapped turkey! I also tried some of the tilapia, which I was skeptical of since I’m not usually a big fish person, but I actually really liked it!

20130101-095020.jpg

The last (and best part of the meal, in my opinion ;)) was the dessert! There were two options last night; the Rabanada (cinnamon sugar donuts with a cremey center) and a Creme Brulee.

I went with the Rabanada and my mom got the creme brulee so we could share. They were both good, but we both agreed that the Rabanada took the prize!

20130101-112138.jpg

20130101-094911.jpg

Overall, it was a really fun experience and I would definitely go again! It was fun to do something a little different from your average sit-down restaurant experience.

Cheers to 2013!

20130101-094926.jpg

It’s safe to say I had my fair share of fun and indulgence this holiday season! I am glad that I was able to let go and not worry about being super strict with food over the past couple of weeks, but I was more than excited to get up this morning and start 2013 back on the right track!

I had gluten-free oats + 2 egg whites and one whole egg for breakfast, and followed it with a nice, sweaty workout. No better way to ring in the new year than that! 😉

20130101-114147.jpg

I did shoulders and cardio this morning and got a pretty good burn!

20130101-114154.jpg

Followed up with a protein shake 🙂 20130101-114201.jpg

I haven’t sat down to actually write down my goals for this year yet, but one thing I know I want to do is experiment with reintroducing some non-paleo foods back into my diet, to see how my body reacts to them (hence, the gluten-free oats).  Paleo has been more than wonderful to me for the past 6 months, and I don’t plan to jump back into eating tons of grains or dairy or anything like that.  But, I’ve been thinking about trying to bring oats and greek yogurt back into my diet, just to see what happens! We are all different, and what works for me might not work for someone else, so I want to focus on finding out what DOES work for me, and if that’s not 100% paleo, then so be it.  I’m learning to be okay with that! Balance is definitely something I plan to work on in the new year!

Hope everyone has a wonderful first day of 2013!

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Dinner

  1. Wow what a delicious adventure!! That place sounds like heaven 🙂 And I’m loving your idea to reintroduce some non paleo eats–I’m doing the same and finding my body responding a lot better! Looking forward to seeing you progress!! 🙂
    Happy New Year friend!

  2. Oh my. That restaurant looks amazing! I’m going to have to share that name with my family and maybe on a special occasion we can drive down there and check it out!

    And good luck with reintroducing the grains and dairy! Those are two of my biggest problem foods too. I miss them though 🙂

  3. I want to try that restaurant so bad! I’m in the middle of whole 30 and loving it! I had a quick question about when you did yours! Did you find it hard not to eat egg whites, or a mug cake before bed? I know it isn’t “approved” but sometimes I want to have something before bed! Also, did you find yourself having to make larger portions for meals? I weight train too and find I am ALWAYS hungry! Any words of wisdom? Thanks!

    • Hey Savannah! To be honest, I usually did have some kind of snack at night! I know you aren’t technically supposed to on the whole 30, but I knew that realistically, with weight training, I was always going to need that extra snack, so I would have one if I wanted it! Lately I’ve been doing egg whites with almond butter and some almond milk before bed. I put a little vanilla and cinnamon in the egg whites before I cook them. So strange, but so good! 🙂 Best of luck with the rest of your whole 30!

Leave a Reply

