Making Some Changes

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend!

I’m getting ready to start my second week of spring semester and have decided to switch things up a little bit for the next 12 weeks or so, and wanted to share some of the changes with all of you.

I am beginning James Wilson’s Body Earned program today and couldn’t be more excited! Way back last spring I did Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer and noticed that many people started James’ program when they finished. I personally do much better when I have an exact plan to follow and a set schedule, so I thought this would be a great way to get me back into a routine after not having much of one over the holidays. There is both a gym and at home version of the program, and both come with a meal plan too. This is where the changes come in.

The great thing about this program is that James is there for support the entire way through, and even after you complete it. You can ask him any questions at any time and he will help you out.  I told him that I ate a mostly paleo diet, and he said that if I really wanted to focus on building muscle, then I should consider reintroducing whole grains back into my diet to pop my carb intake. I went back and forth on this because the main reason I started paleo was because it helped my blood sugar levels so much. My main concern with reintroducing grains is that I will get unwanted spikes from eating them, but I have decided to slowly incorporate them back into my diet.

For example, I’ll be eating more things like oats, Ezekial bread, brown rice, and quinoa.  Yesterday I had oats, an Ezekial tortilla, and rice cakes and none of them caused a blood sugar spike! Woohoo!

I had another big bowl of oats this morning, and I mixed in 1/2 cup of egg whites and topped it with some coconut peanut butter.  Having some protein and healthy fats with carbohydrates usually tends to not make me spike so much, so this seems to be a winner! Oh, and if you didn’t see the game yesterday, Michigan still sucks 😉

20130114-100404.jpg

I’ll also be reintroducing some dairy with things like plain greek yogurt (the kind with fruit has tons of sugar and sends me through the roof!) and cottage cheese.  So far so good with the greek yogurt, but I got a major headache yesterday after eating some cottage cheese, so we’ll have to see how that one goes!

Snackin’ on some yogurt at work.

20130114-102053.jpg

 

Cottage cheese + stevia + unsweetened cocoa powder + crumbled rice cakes = strange but good combo!

20130114-102106.jpg

 

 

And of course I’ll still be eating lots of paleo-friendly meals like some of these!

Ground turkey, garlicky cauliflower mash (seriously my new obsession), and apple slices.

20130114-100253.jpg

 

One of the best meals I’ve had in awhile! Ground beef burger, broccoli, and sweet potato fries! I hardly ever make sweet potato fries anymore and after making them with this I think it’s going to be happening much more often! SO yummy!

 

20130114-100323.jpg

 

And a combination of leftovers from the two 🙂
20130114-100332.jpg

New semester, new stares in the library. You know the drill by now 😉

I also bought these new resistance bands yesterday, because with my schedule this semester it is going to be much more convenient for me to do my workouts at home.  For The home version of the Body Earned program, all you need is dumbbells, resistance bands, and a stability ball. Check, check, and check! I haven’t really worked with resistance bands very much, so I’m excited to see what kind of results they bring!  These ones have up to 75 pounds of resistance. Awesome!

20130114-100440.jpg

 

Can’t wait to get started with workout number 1 tonight!

Hope everyone has a great Monday!

6 thoughts on “Making Some Changes

  1. YAY YAY YAY!!! Oh man so much awesome news girl! I’m doin the same as you with re introducing grains (the ones I can tolerate) and some dairy. Man they sure help with the carb intake–there’s only so many veggies you can eat before getting sick of them hahaha!! DUDE you gotta try Gorilla munch cereal–it’s gluten free and SO FREAKING DELICIOUS. BEST carb eva haha! 😀
    I can’t wait to see how you progress with this new program, it sounds perfect! 🙂

  2. I’m so stoked for you and this new program! Please please do an update post on how your workouts are going, ect!! 🙂 As much as I love paleo I find my body (as with yours and Zandra’s) needs more carbohydrates. I mean seriously if I can tolerate gf oatmeal I’m gonna eat it because it costs like $6.50 for 30 servings versus buying a crapton of sweet taters at $1/lb!!! #brokecollegeproblems! Don’t you just love the library stares 😉

Leave a Reply

