Tomato, Basil, and Mozzarella Pizza with Almond Flour Crust

Hey everyone!

Today I wanted to share a recipe with you guys that I made over the weekend as an experiment for a recipe contest I am entering!

The recipe had to include cheese, so what better to make than pizza!? I can’t remember the last time I ate real pizza, so I wanted to create something that would satisfy the craving, but not be completely unhealthy. I have seen millions of recipes for cauliflower crust pizza, but the few times I have tried them, the crust never comes out thick or hard enough, so the whole thing just kind of falls apart. I needed something more stable! Enter almond flour crust!

It came out SO perfect and the flavors were absolutely amazing together. Of course, you could use whatever toppings you want, but I have to say I HIGHLY suggest these ones 😉

So here it is! Hope you enjoy!

Tomato, Basil, and Mozzarella Almond Flour Crust Pizza

20130123-083828.jpg

Ingredients:
Crust:
2 cups almond flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
2 eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons olive oil (coconut oil would probably also work!)
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh basil
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/4 cup Sargento 6 Cheese Italian Shredded Cheese (any cheese will work here!)

Toppings:
2 tbsp Olive oil
Mozerella Cheese
Provolone Cheese
2-3 Tomatoes
Fresh Basil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.
Mix all ingredients (excluding toppings) in a large bowl. Place dough on a sheet of parchment paper, then top with another sheet and roll out between the two to desired thickness (the dough is pretty sticky, hence why the parchment paper is needed!) I made mine pretty thin, probably close to 1/8 inch thick. Remove the top layer of parchment paper and place dough onto a baking sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes.

Remove dough from oven and top with desired toppings. I brushed mine with olive oil first, then spread the fresh garlic over that. Next, I added a layer of a mixture of the mozzarella and provolone. Then I added the tomatoes and fresh basil, and topped with another layer of cheese. The amount of each is entirely up to you and your preference!

You can continue to cook the pizza in the oven until the toppings are melted, or place it under the broiler to melt them. If you choose to use the broiler, make sure to keep a close watch so your crust doesn’t burn!

Once toppings are melted, remove from
oven and enjoy! 🙂

One thought on “Tomato, Basil, and Mozzarella Pizza with Almond Flour Crust

Leave a Reply

