WIAW: Creature of Habit

Hey everyone! Long time no see, I know, I know.

As usual, I’ve been super busy over here with school, work, midterms; all that good stuff.  Molecular biochem and anatomy anyone? Yep. Pretty much taking over my life.

It’s been SO long since I participated in What I Ate Wednesday, so I thought I would jump back in today!

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

Thanks to Jenn for hosting as always!

I’m not going to lie, when I get busy, I tend to eat a lot of the same things.  And lately, that has definitely been the case! I would for sure consider myself a major creature of habit.  It’s so easy to prepare big batches of things at the beginning of the week to have on hand for quick, easy meals.  Most of my meals are looking prettttty similar these days, and I thought I would share some with you!

After testing out reintroducing some grains and dairy for just a few days, I soon realized that was not going to work out.  My blood sugars were out of control during that time and I just didn’t feel good.  So, for the most part, I am back to the paleo grind (with a few exceptions here and there).

I’ve been eating this breakfast every day for the past few days and am loving it! I forgot how good the runny yolk + avocado combo is! I like to throw the avocado into the skillet with the eggs too, so it’s nice and warm. Yum!

20130206-173334.jpg

 

Lunches have looked a lot like this. Ground turkey, cauliflower mash, and butternut squash with almond butter. Lean protein, carbs, healthy fats, and veggies. Check, check, check, and check!

20130206-171914.jpg

Attractive pic, I know.  Hey, there’s only so much you can do in the library without getting TOO many stares 😉

Or sometimes lunch looks like this. Basically the same as above, but with broccoli instead of cauliflower mash.

20130206-171941.jpg

I wish more of my lunches looked like this. I’ve been going through a salad-hating phase lately for some reason, so I tried taking one for lunch the other day to try to get them back into the rotation, but sadly it still just wasn’t doing it for me.  Hopefully I will snap out of it soon 😉

20130206-172050.jpg

Dinners have also been pretty typical. Protein, veggies, and sweet potato. I’m telling you guys, this combo just never gets old to me! I think I might actually turn into a sweet potato at the rate I eat them!

20130206-171901.jpg

This combo was especially good the other night. Citrus marinated flat iron steak, broccoli, and sweet potato slathered in almond butter. So. Freaking. Good. I could eat this exact meal every night I swear!

20130206-171930.jpg

Am I the only one who falls into habits like this?!

Happy Wednesday everyone! 🙂

6 thoughts on “WIAW: Creature of Habit

  1. I love dinners just like yours. I CANT WAIT UNTIL I MOVE OUT OF MY DORM. So I can go protein, veggie, sweet potato dinner crazzzy. Haha

  2. I definitely am a creature of habit. Sorry to hear that the grains and dairy didn’t work out, but I’m right there with you. I’m on an autoimmune pale-type diet right now, but I can’t wait to be able to add back in some things like nuts. I tried eggs a few weeks ago and those just didn’t work out for me 😦 But, who needs them with all of the deliciousness that you can create with vegetables? Haha 🙂 Love cauliflower rice and cauliflower mashes.

  3. No, you are most definitely not! I have eaten variations of the same meals for practically the last week. If its not broke. don’t fix it right? I think I become a creature of habit ESPECIALLY when I’m super busy because I know certain meals will keep my full and I don’t have to worry about getting hungry at inconvenient times.
    P.S. I have been eating load of sweet potatoes + nut butter recently and thinking about you!

  4. Pingback: Healthy Way To Cook What I Ate Wednesday roundup - posts from February 6

Leave a Reply

