Salty Cocoa Paleo Energy Bites

Ohhhh my gosh. How did I possibly forget to mention in yesterday’s post that it was Earth Day!? Luckily I realized it soon after and what better way to celebrate Earth day than with a salad from Whole Foods? 😉

20130423-113723.jpg

One of the many things I love about the Whole Foods salad/hot bar is that they list the ingredients of every single dish right on the bar! How cool is that? This salad had kale, mixed greens, grilled chicken, some sort of mongolian beef (which was delish), onions, pecans, and some cranberries.  I also may or may not have hoarded 2 containers of the Zesty Tahini dressing. That. Stuff. Is. Amazeballs. No lie. Yesterday on Twitter I mentioned that I would like to bathe in it. And I was not joking in the least. I desperately need to attempt to recreate it and I think this recipe might just do the trick!

Did anyone else used to watch Gilmore Girls?  My sister and I used to watch it religiously every night on ABC family.  It’s finals week at Ohio State and when I saw this I almost died! I mean if Loreli says it, it’s gotta be true, right? 😉

20130423-113727.jpg

Speaking of it being finals week, that also means that major baking mode has set in over here.  Does anyone else do this? It seems like every semester during finals week I find myself baking non-stop. Stress baking? Procrastination baking? A combo of the two? Who knows! On Sunday I made a big batch of these…

20130423-121800.jpg

They are paleo!!!

Lol. Juuuuuust kidding.  Did I fool you?  These are just about the furthest thing from paleo you can get 😉 But they are awesome and every time I make them they are a big hit! Thanks, Courtney! I use this recipe but use dark chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate and add 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips. To. Die. For. I made some for my mom and aunt to take to work this week. They both said everyone loved them!

On the other hand, I have been baking some paleo-friendly goodies too.  Remember these from last week?  I told you I would be experimenting with new flavors! Yesterday I made a similar version with just a couple added ingredients and they turned out awesome! I am loving these snacks!

Salty Cocoa Paleo Energy Bites

20130423-113712.jpg

Ingredients

1 cup raw almonds

3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes (you could also use unsweetened shredded coconut, same thing!)

4 medjool dates, pitted

1/2 cup sunflower seed butter

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp water

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until the mixture begins to stick together and all ingredients are incorporated.

Roll into bite-sized balls.

Enjoy!

Have a happy Tuesday everyone!

6 thoughts on “Salty Cocoa Paleo Energy Bites

Leave a Reply

