Road Trippin’ Trail Mix

I hate running. Like really am not a fan of it. Especially in public. Because I am probably one of the most awkward looking runners out there. Let’s be honest, tall people just look weird when they run. Period. Remember that episode of friends where Rachel and Phoebe run together but then Rachel doesn’t want to run with her anymore because she runs like and elephant? Well, just call me Pheebs.

But lately I’ve been making myself do it anyways. And you know what? I may actually be kind of maybe starting to enjoy it. I know. Weird. I mean let’s be real, I’m no roadrunner. I’m actually extremely slow. Like real slow. But hey, it’s the effort that counts right? The weather has been getting nicer here in Columbus (shocking, I know) and it’s been nice to run outside for a change.  My mom even ran with me the other day! Now how freaking adorable is she?

20130502-152745.jpg

Want to know some songs I’ve been listening to while I run? Sure you do! I’ve come to the conclusion that if I was forced to run without headphones, I would probably actually die.  That would blow, especially if you’re already not a big running fan like I’m not. The right jams can help though.  I usually feel pretty sweet and pumped up when I listen to these.  You know that feeling you get when a real good song comes on when you’re working out and your adrenaline starts pumping? Yeah, I just wish the other people who see you running could also hear them, so you don’t look like a complete idiot feeling all full of yourself acting like a professional runner.  You know what I mean? No?  Cool.  So here are some songs that have been helping me feel like I am in fact a professional runner.

1.  Crash My Party – Luke Bryan

2. 22 – Taylor Swift (Don’t judge. It’s catchy)

3. My Songs Know What you Did in the Dark – Fall Out Boy

4. Now or Never – Outasight

5. Best Love Song – T-Pain

6. Turn All the Lights On – T -Pain

Quite an unusual mix I know.  Got a little bit of everything in there.  Hey, whatever works right? Feel free to suggest any favorites.  I get bored easily.

So I don’t think I’ve mentioned that I’m leaving tomorrow for vacation. Well, now I have. Woooohooo! My family is headed to Destin, Florida for the week and I am pumped.  Roadtriiiiiip! We are stopping in Nashville tomorrow on the way down to see my Uncle Dave, Aunt Carla, and cousin Ashley (hey guys!) Not sure how much I’ll be blogging next week, but I can assure you I’ll be posting a crap ton of pictures all over Instagram/Twitter/Facebook. So you can follow along with my exciting life there (taylorriggs12) if you so desire (which you probably don’t).  It’s cool if you don’t.

So naturally road trips call for snacks. Duh. Or at least they do in my family.  I went on a mini road trip (literally like an hour away) last summer with some friends and my mom was appalled with me because I didn’t buy any snacks to take in the car.  So she immediately ran out and bought some because she thought my friends wouldn’t hate me.  Thanks mom.

Anyways, I was trying to think of some good paleo snacks to bring along and that’s when I came up with this wonderful concoction.  It’s really not all that brilliant.  Actually it’s pretty much the laziest form of creation you can think of seeing as though it literally takes 0.5 seconds to put together.  The easier the better, I say.  So the next time your mom is yelling at you for forgetting the road trip snacks, I gotchya covered.

Road Trippin’ Paleo Trail Mix

20130502-152752.jpg

I just made a small baggie full, so if you want to make a a larger amount just double or triple the recipe!

Ingredients:

1/4 cup walnuts

1/4 almonds

1/4 cup cashews

1/4 cup pecans

1/4 cup raisins

1/8 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

Directions:

Mix everything together.

Eat.

I wasn’t kidding when I told you it was easy.

3 thoughts on “Road Trippin’ Trail Mix

  1. Whooo tall awkward running girls unite! I was a swimmer my whole life and literally avoided running like the plague because my body just felt gangly on land but when I rowed in college they MADE us run as cross-training. I seriously dreaded those runs but just like you, after a while I started to enjoy it and now look forward to runs! Crazy. I probably still look like a weirdo when I run but as least I’m getting a good workout in! Have run on your vacation, road trips are the best! (especially with snacks!)

Leave a Reply

