Back to School!

Hey guys!

I apologize for being the worst blogger ever this week!  Classes started back up Wednesday for me at Ohio State, and I can already tell it’s going to be a SUPER busy semester.  I’m taking some pretty challenging classes (Molecular Biochem might actually kill me, help)!  But I’m also extrememly excited because I’m really starting to get deeper into some Nutrition classes, my real passion! Sitting in my first one the other day, I can honestly say I felt more confident than ever that this is exactly what I want to do with my life. Nutrition is my true and honest passion, and just sitting in that first class I felt so excited.  I have honestly never been so sure about something in my life, and it is such a great feeling!

Breakfast this week consisted of my new favorite, Paleo “Noatmeal.”  I literally cannot get enough of this breakfast! I took out the 1/2 banana from the original recipe, because having that sugar so early in the morning was causing a bit of a spike in my blood sugar.  But, since taking it out, I haven’t had any problems and levels are back to perfect in the mornings.  (Have I mentioned how much my body loves me for going paleo? 😉 )

Topped with Sunbutter and bloobs. Oh my it’s delicious.

Speaking of Sunbutter, I was scrolling through Facebook last night and came across this!

How freaking cool is that?!  I was pretty much Sunbutter star struck.  I couldn’t believe it! Sunbutter has been my absolute favorite since going Paleo.  I put it on EVERYTHING! Noatmeal, sweet potatoes, my Paleo pumpkin ice cream, and even on the Arctic Zero samples I recieved (which I’ll be sharing with you all soon!) So thank you for the shoutout Sunbutter!

Going back to school also means getting into a new routine, so I’ve been trying to figure out what my new gym routine will be for this semester.  Luckily, I have a big break in between my morning classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I am able to fit my workouts in during the day, which is great because sometimes by the end of the day after working and class, I get tired and unmotivated.  So this is perfect!

I’ve still been working on the 8×8 program, and am still really enjoying it! I hadn’t been doing a ton of cardio with it, but this week I’ve been  jumping on the stationary bike for 30-45 mins after dinner for a little something extra.

The weight sessions I’ve been doing aren’t all necessesarily  huge calorie burners, but I’ve noticed that my fat burn percentages have really been getting up there!

Refueling with some protein on my way to class!

So speaking of workouts….

I did something exciting this week. Like, REALLY exciting.

As in, signing up for CrossFit exciting! EEEEEEK!

I have been wanting to try CrossFit FOREVER, and this week there was a Groupon for the one in my area! I immediately snatched it up because I knew I would regret it if I didn’t.  I hope to go in for my introduction session next week.  I can’t wait to tell you guys all about it! 🙂

Anyways, back to school related things…

New year, new people staring at me for bringing my healthy lunches to the library….

Yes, you sir on the computer across from me slurping your Coke and chowing down on your greasy pizza sub, I’m talking about you.

Shocking.  I think they’re secretly just jealous? 😉

Luckily I don’t have classes on Fridays again this quarter, so last night I was able to relax and unwind after a busy week. And by relax and unwind I mean eat this bowl of Peanut Butter Chocolate Arctic Zero with sunflower seed butter and almonds.

Holy shiz I love Arctic Zero. Review to come soon once I make my way through all of their amazing flavors! 🙂

Oh, and today I got an e-mail from Urban Meyer. No big deal.

One week until Buckeye football begins! CANNOT WAIT!!!!

Hope everyone had a great first week back!

6 thoughts on “Back to School!

  1. I am basically obsessed with Sunbutter. I can’t get enough! So glad you are loving your classes. It makes me wonder if I picked the wrong major since my true passion is health and fitness, too. Anyway, congrats on signing up for crossfit! I’ve been dying to try it!

    • Sunbutter is definitely my new favorite! But aren’t you a journalism major? Obviously you are an amazing writer! You could totally still incorporate your passion for health and fitness into your writing, just like you do so well with your blog! And thank you! I can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

  2. It is so crazy that school is starting back up again, isn’t it?! Molecular Biochem sounds tough but I think it is so cool that you are taking some awesome nutrition classes too! When I have to take a REALLY hard class, I try to make sure my other classes are things I am more interested in to keep myself motivated. I feel you on the salad situation! I am always munching away on some greens in library and get self conscious for a second, then get over it. SALAD POWER all the way!!

    • Haha so true girl! I can’t believe school has started up again already either! But I am definitely really excited about my
      Nutrition classes and will hopefully be able to keep up with the Biochem 😉 and yes! Salads for the win!

  3. hey taylor! i was wondering if you could talk a little bit more about how you’re structuring your 8×8 workouts? like what a typical day or week might look like? your dedication really inspires me! because of you i’ve started lifting and i love it! i’m still new though, so i depend on you alot for direction and program ideas!

    • Wow thank you so much! That is great that you have gotten into weight training! I’m al glad that more and more girls are seeing its benefits lately. I will definitely try to incorporate what a typical workout looks like in a post soon! Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a comment